The Forward Prize

Best Collection £10,000

Lachlan MacKinnon
Sinead Morrissey
Robin Robertson
Seamus Heaney
Jo Shapcott
Fiona Sampson

The judges picked Christian Campbell’s Running the Dusk, Hilary Menos’s Berg, Abegail Morley’s How to Pour Madness into a Teacup, Helen Oswald’s Learning Gravity, Steve Spence’s A Curious Shipwreck and Sam Willetts’s New Light for the Old Dark for the shortlist for the £5,000 award for best first collection.

The best single poem award, worth £1,000, pits Kate Bingham’s On Highgate Hill against Julia Copus’s An Easy Passage, Lydia Fulleylove’s Night Drive, Chris Jones’s Sentences, Ian Pindar’s Mrs Beltinska in the Bath, and Lee Sands’s The Reach.