Uncategorized

Envoi Featured Poet

Issue 157 October 2010 Abegail Morley is the Featured poet.

There is a wealth of excellent poetry in this issue, not least from the featured writers, Abegail Morley (short listed for the Forward Prize best first collection) and Char March.

This issue has seven of Abegail Morley’s poems:

Dear Candle
Re: your visit to the grave
Meeting Point
The One
Distance
Utterance
Consummation

Dear Candle

Do you remember when you came
boxed-up, bubble wrapped filling the gap
between me and the postman?

I’ve never had a gift from the dead
and feel bad I squeezed you in a place
left for the living

Half-burnt you are lost in my house.
You show me your frame. Your shadow’s slipped
into corners. You wait quietly.

I don’t know how long you’ll last in this place.
When you are burnt down will she leave?
Tell me how that makes you feel.

Leave a Reply

