Uncategorized

Jenny Meilihove – the illustrator behind Snow Child

When did you start painting?

I started painting when I was a very small child. My father taught me to draw and told me a lot about artists such as Van Gogh and Picasso. I also went to art school in Russia which I really loved it, but when my family and I moved to Israel I had to take a break from drawing. Later I studied Visual Communications (majoring in Illustration) at Bezalel Academy of Arts and Design in Jerusalem. I currently live in Tel Aviv, in a small room with a big table and two big windows where I can see a piece of sky and trees, sometimes a cloud passing by… sometimes a bird.

2. What inspires you?

 Daily life and music.

3. When you are illustrating a character how do you bring it to life?

I am always thinking about the thing I am painting, and try to put myself into that world, become that person myself, at least for a time. Usually when I finish drawing my character’s face, the first thing I do is look at him and welcome him (or her), with, “Hey, you!”… And then we start talking.  As a rule of thumb, if I can’t immediately say hello to my character it probably means it requires a bit more work, so I continue the process.

4. Can you tell me a little about the girl sitting on the roof on the cover of my book?

It is a cold evening and the girl has found a tiny horse that is lonely and sad. She plays with her and continues to play with her all the night because the tiny horse is afraid to be alone at night. In the morning the horse will continue her adventure and the girl will find another sad person and will make them happy.

5. What other mediums do you work in?

 I mostly work with acrylic on paper or canvas; sometimes I work with ink, pencils and watercolour.  I also make tiny toys of Fimo.

Visit Jenny’s site, Facebook, or her shop where there are the most beautiful things to buy.

4 thoughts on “Jenny Meilihove – the illustrator behind Snow Child”

  1. Jenny, it’s great to meet you.

    Abi chose very very well when she chose your painting for the cover of her book. I love that painting. Thanks for telling us more about how you “meet” the characters in your painting and the story of the girl and the horse on Abi’s cover. I will always remember what you said now whenever I look at that picture.

    And wow – I just took a quick look at your shop. very impressive. Haven’t decided what/which I’ll be buying yet, just that I KNOW I WILL be buying something (and probably more than one something)!!

    Elly

  2. Hi Jenny,

    I went to your website and really enjoyed looking at your work. I think the design for the cover of Abegail’s book is outstanding. Julian Barnes, in his acceptance speech, thanked the designer of the cover of his book. In these days of kindle, he said, a book had to be a beautiful thing too. When he said that, I immediately thought of your collaboration with Abegail. I wish you both all the best.

  3. Two young and wonderfully talented artists working together … what more can I say!
    So pleased to have discovered your work, Jenny, such a fitting compliment to Abi’s poetry.

Leave a Reply

