Competition winners 2011

Prose and Poetry Prizes 2011

Sponsored by The New Writer

SHORT STORY category – judged by Jonathan Pinnock, who has had over a hundred stories and poems published, and his novel Mrs Darcy versus the Aliens (Proxima Books) was published last year.

1st Lezanne Clannachan Burial

2nd Giovanna Iozzi Little Dogs

3rd Annalie Grainger After

Very Highly Commended: Anna Mazzola Treasure

Highly Commended: Faith Barnes Close To Zero; Clare Girvan The Killing Sea; Elizabeth Janzen Tips For Girls; Leo Madigan The Protest of Abel; Louis Malloy Burning the Acropolis; Alison Moore Trees in the Tarmac.

Longlist: Kerry Barner Decorating the Soul; Kate Coldstream Bergamot; Ruth Davis The Last Place; Sarah Evans Acclimatising; T.D. Griggs Julius; Jonathan Haylett A Face in the Crowd; Richard Hulse Tape; Michael Lundy Brothers; Madeline Parsons The West’s Awake; Lindsay Stanberry-Flynn The Weight of the Rucksack

Finalists: : Emily Benet The Repossession; Tracy Fells Through the Arched Window; Christine Findlay Denial; Lynne Henderson The Masterpiece; Anthony Howcroft One Page Ahead; Sally Howgate The Admiral’s Daughter; S.M.Powley Mister Charisma; Dorothy Schwarz Final Solution; Ryan Scott The Esteemed Order of Albino Rabbits; Geraldine Stoneham The Man Who Fell To Earth; Christian Westerlind Wigstrom No Questions Answered

MICROFICTION category – judged by Catherine Smith, who writes poetry, fiction and radio drama. Twice shortlisted for the Forward Prize, her short story collection, The Biting Point, was published last year.

1st Heather Reed Curly Girl

2nd Valerie Sirr The Bridge

3rd Jolanta Burgoyne-Johnson wild-berries

Highly Commended: Jacqueline Haskell SD; Alison Moore The Yacht Man

Commended: Alison Moore The Smell of the Slaughterhouse ; Martha Williams There Will Be No Lace

Longlist: John Bainbridge When The Chalk Dust Settles; Richard Bond Lament For The Yellow Labelled Professor; Eve Bonham Sweet Temptation; Ryan Coull Harry’s Longest Night; B V Crowder On The Towpath; Anna Cullum Jasmine and Wet Grass; K S Dearsley Lunch at the Zoo; Jo Derrick Dying Flowers; Peter Domican The Last Last Ride; Tracy Fells Miss Scarlet In The Shed; Tania Hershman A Loyal Friend; Angela Higson Fruit and Nut; Sue Johnson Mincemeat; Michael Lundy Layton Hollingsworth; Patricia Mahoney Moving; Patricia Nicholson Transpositions; Eithne Nightingale Foucault over the Garden Fence; Deborah Rickard Resuscitation and Restoration; Mike Roe Shell Shocked; Abigail Shaw The Last; Lucy Shuttleworth Blue Bird; Sheriden Turner Then It Was Autumn Again; Connal Vickers Just Fishing

POETRY COLLECTION category –judged by Bill Greenwell, whose first collection, Impossible Objects (Cinnamon), was shortlisted for the Forward Best First Collection prize.

1st Jo Hemmant The First

2nd David Underdown Being History

3rd Jennifer Copley Hartley’s Boat

Highly Commended: Alex Josephy A Bottle of Birds and a Box of Ginger Pills; Jacqui Rochford Journeys.

Commended: Cheryl Carman Collection of 6 poems; Tom Cunliffe Nest + 6 poems; Cora Greenhill Xenia; David Grubb The Blue Violin.

Honourable Mentions: John Foggin Advice to a Traveller; Heather Harrison Sea Changed; Melissa Lee-Houghton Come Over + 8 poems; Leland James Collection of 7 poems; Alesha Racine Nana; Sarah Williams Reaction; Alison Winch He Loves The Bones Of Her.

SINGLE POEM category – judged by Bill Greenwell.

1st Anna Kisby Archives

2nd Carol Carpenter The Sky is Falling

3rd Alison Michell Slate

Highly Commended: Colin Begg The Snow Leopard at Wannsee; Fred Brown Picture at an Exhibition; David Frankel Incident; Peter Goulding Long Wave; Mark Holihan Life Residue; Alison Michell Surface Tension; Alesha Racine Outlander; Paul Smith Comfortable; Josie Turner The House of the Dead.

Honourable Mentions: Patricia Ace Laptop; Colin Begg The Snow Leopard at Carsaig; Clive Eastwood Footprint and Pamplona; Bruce Harris Swimmer and Fisher; Mark Holihan Remembering Zaire at Breakfast; Richard Hughes Espionage; Desmond Kon If Jeffrey Smart Painted James Joyce.

ESSAY / ARTICLE category – judged by Sally Quilford, columnist and fiction writer whose short stories and novellas have appeared in popular British women’s magazines.

1st Brigid Smith Solomon Tsehaye Beraki: an African Homer?

2nd Charlotte Clutterbuck Untrue Sentences

3rd Sharon Birch The Moose, The Muse, or Just Our Harry

Highly Commended: Julia Anderson Pink Fluffy Earmuffs & Long Purple Gloves; William Wood My Ideal Editor; Hilary Middleton Love Your Notebook.

1 thought on “Competition winners 2011”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s