Uncategorized

What Clare Best is reading

MarkOn the poetry side, at the moment I’m revisiting one or two earlier collections by Mark Doty as well as dipping into his latest, Deep Lane (Cape 2015, £10), which I’m finding delicious in the way it looks at maturity – head on but with such grace and joy. I heard Mark read at the Aldeburgh poetry prom in August and I’m enjoying the sound of his voice in my head when I read the poems on the page. ‘Spent’ is my favourite poem in Deep Lane and I keep returning to it, relishing the mix of pathos, humour and skilled craftsmanship

I’m also reading Send – a new novel by Kay Syrad (Cinnamon Press 2015, £9.99) which almost counts as poetry because the experience is very like reading poetry. It’s a wonderful book – humane, intriguing, beautifully written, full of sparkling ideas, with plenty to chew on.

Kay

Another book I’m currently spending quality time with is The Book as Art:book art Artists’ Books from the National Museum of Women in the Arts, edited by Krystyna Wasserman (Princeton Architectural Press 2007/11, $34.95). This is a gorgeous volume – superbly produced, rich in illustration and with insightful essays by Johanna Drucker and Audrey Niffenegger.

I could go on… and on… but I’ll stop there for now.

Further information about Clare can be found on her website.

Leave a Reply

