Battered Moons poetry competition

battered-moons-large-phoebe8BATTERED MOONS POETRY COMPETITION started five years ago and became a national competition in 2012.It has had a privileged trajectory, with the collaboration of judges Martin Malone and Lesley Saunders in the first two years, Michael Symmons Roberts in 2012 and main Alice Oswald in 2013.This year’s main judge is David Morley, whose work has received fourteen literary awards, including a major Eric Gregory AwardDavid (in 1989), a Tyrone Guthrie Award from Northern Arts, a Hawthorden International Writers Fellowship, an Arts Council Writers Award, the Raymond Williams Prize, a Creative Ambitions Award, and an Arts Council Fellowship in Writing at Warwick University. He has also received two awards for his teaching, including a National Teaching Fellowship. Morley is himself the Director of the Warwick Prize for Writing and a judge of the 2012 T.S. Eliot Prize. He is Director of the Warwick Writing Programme and Professor of Writing at the University of Warwick, as well as a tutor for The Arvon Foundation, The Poetry School and Maddy Prior’s Stones Barn Courses.Read more about David Morley here.
Battered Moons is an open national poetry competition supported by Swindon Artswords, Arts Council England and BlueGate Poets, part of the Swindon Festival of Poetry, to which Battered Moons is linked.The Battered Moons Team are Hilda Sheehan as organiser of the Swindon Festival of Poetry and, with Clare Knock, for administration and technical support, and Cristina Newton as organiser, judge and editor of the Battered Moons pamphlet.

Entries will be accepted from 1st March.

To enter online, follow the following steps:

1) Select the number of entries and pay using the ‘Add to Cart’ PayPal button below. The cost is £5 for a single entry, or £3.50 each poem for multiple entries. There is no limit to the number of entries you can submit.

2) Once you have paid, send an email to batteredmoonsentries@gmail.com including:

In the body of the message: ~ your PayPal transaction reference number ~ your personal details: name, postal address, telephone number ~ the titles of the poem(s)

As attachments, the poem or poems you are submitting, each as a separate document.

Please make sure no identification marks other than the title are to be found on the poems themselves, as that would cause them to be disqualified.

For further information click here.

Sharon Olds

Sharon Olds wins the TS Eliot Prize

Sharon Olds wins TS Eliot poetry prize for Stag’s Leap collection on divorce

Poet Sharon Olds

New York poet unanimous winner of £15,000 prize as judges praise ‘grace and chivalry’ in her writing

Sharon Olds has scooped the TS Eliot poety prize for Stag’s Leap. The title of her collection refers to her husband’s leap for freedom. Photograph: Eamonn McCabe

A series of poems that describe the sharp grief of divorce and the slow, painful, incremental creep of recovery is the winner of the 2012 TS Eliot prize for the best new collection published in the UK and Ireland.

Sharon Olds, the US poet whose work has pushed the boundaries of writing about the body, the emotions, and intimacy, was the unanimous choice of the judges for her collection, Stag’s Leap.

Poet laureate Carol Ann Duffy, chair of the final judging panel, said: “This was the book of her career. There is a grace and chivalry in her grief that marks her out as being a world-class poet. I always say that poetry is the music of being human, and in this book she is really singing. Her journey from grief to healing is so beautifully executed.”

Among the shortlisted poets were fellow American Jorie Graham, and Britons Kathleen Jamie, Deryn Rees-Jones, Julia Copus and Duffy’s opposite number in Wales, Gillian Clarke, the country’s national poet. “It was a really strong shortlist, with so much talent and grace,” said Duffy, “and it was particularly strong in women. We were particularly pleased to have six fantastic books by women.”

Duffy’s fellow judges were the Northern Irish poet-classicist Michael Longley and the poet and editor David Morley.

The “stag’s leap” of the title of the collection refers to Olds’s husband’s leap for freedom – but also, perhaps, her own gradual attainment of a new equilibrium.

The collection operates as what the Observer described as a “calendar of pain”: we begin with her husband’s announcement of his departure while “two tulips stretched/ away from each other extreme in the old vase”, and we wind up years later when “…he starts to seem more far/ away, he seems to waft, drift/ at a distance, once-husband in his grey suit/ with the shimmer to its weave”. There comes a new, if harsh, clarity: “I did not know him, I knew my idea of him.”

The announcement followed readings at the Royal Festival Hall in London from all 10 shortlisted collections.

Two thousand people attended the readings confirming, said Duffy, poetry’s place “as our national art. The other poets on the shortlist were Simon Armitage, Paul Farley, Jacob Polley and Sean Borrodale.

Duffy said she was delighted to see how proficient the poets had become at performing their poetry to a large audience. “Ten years ago I think they would have been muttering into their jacket sleeves,” she said.

Olds, who lives in New York and was born in San Francisco in 1942, received a cheque for £15,000 donated posthumously by Valerie Eliot, who died last year. The shortlisted poets each received £1,000.

The prize is run by the Poetry Book Society and supported by the TS Eliot estate and Aurum, an investment management company.

, chief arts writer. The Guardian, Monday 14 January 2013 19.30 GMT